A short visit to the King Tut Exhibition


I wished the exhibition had more to offer. With my limited knowledge of King Tut and Egyptian history, posting more photos would have been nice. Unfortunately, photography was not allowed in the exhibition hall.

King Tutankhamun died mysteriously at the age of 19, but his pyramid was full of artifacts when it was discovered in the early 20th century. Some stone statues at the exhibition were magnificent under which I felt oppressed. The king’s artifacts can travel all over the world but the king’s mummy. An exact replica lain in a coffin disappointed me. It said that the actual mummy is never to leave Egypt. Period. And, as if to prove the king died at an early age and the Egyptians were rather small people, his bed and chair were small like those of a pre-teen. Top of the bed and chair was not flat but curvy, quite ergonomic to my eyes. That was one noticeable thing out of the many artifacts. How ignorant I were to this exhibition! The more you know, the more you see.

People are people. The question ‘what would we become after death?’ might be one of the most important and asked questions since the creation of the world. The Egyptians also wondered about their afterlife and that’s why full of artifacts were found in the pyramids. My version of an afterlife is very vague and in disbelief despite I am Christian. The Egyptians believed a pharaoh becomes a god after his death and gold is the skin of a god. It sounded absurd even though I am sure they were sure or at least believed so at their time. Several thousand years later – if the world still exists, of what our strong beliefs would sound absurd to our descendants?

**

The exhibition reminded me of a story. I already wrote about it on my other blog and talked to friends as well. Maybe, first time to write it in English, though.

I am a part-time translator – want to be full-time soon! – and had worked more in my school years than now. Website translations were my usual projects. But after graduation my full-time job took more of my attention and naturally I worked less as a translator. In 2008, I went to Korea for business and was fortunate enough to have a free weekend including a leisure drive on rural roads. It was a peaceful drive through a beautiful Korean countryside during which I felt first time how beautiful my country was. As the drive neared to the end, I stopped by at a national museum that exhibited a Korean king’s tomb. Without much expectation, I walked into the exhibition hall. However, amazingly, I found my translations there! Several years before 2008, I translated many pages on the king’s artifacts and forgot about the translations afterwards. Translating archaeological facts was a challenge. It was a great surprise to see my translations were neatly printed on a fact sheet next to each matching artifact. I took a great pride that the translations were my own work although it was challenging.

The King Tut Exhibition reminded me again I am a translator and need to take pride in my work, dreaming of the day I would become a professional.

4 thoughts on “A short visit to the King Tut Exhibition

  1. I saw this exhibit at the Art Gallery of Ontario in Toronto last year. I was very disappointed that we weren’t allowed to take pictures, and that I had to pay seventeen bucks for the piddley little companion book. However, in all it was worth it to catch a glimpse of some of these ancient things. I was very surprised at how many things were made of wood.

    • This exhibition offers a Harrison Ford’s audio explanation with an expert’s comments, too, which was nice. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have stayed at the exhibition for an hour. Yes, it was nice to see part of the Egyptian culture after several thousand years. Thanks for stopping by and the comment. 🙂

  2. Pingback: King Tut died of Malaria | The Nahmias Cipher Report

    • Oh, he died of Malaria? The tour’s audio explanation said what he died of is unclear and it might have been a murder to take his crown. Anyways, it is nice to see your comment and thank you.

Leave a Reply

