Film Review: The Vow


Photo from Wikipedia.org

Photo from Wikipedia.org

I had two minds: I want to see a movie not as serious! and why do I want to see a romantic movie on the Valentine’s Day weekend? As my mind inclined to the former, I did go see the movie. It was better than I expected – not as fictional as other typical romantic movies because the movie was inspired by true events. Any movie based on a true event or story contains less of the fictional features. But please do not say ‘why don’t you go for a documentary film?’ I do need some drama. During a cameo appearance in Sherlock Holmes: A Games of Shadows, Rachel McAdams’ voice was very noticeably beautiful so that I was a bit excited to hear her voice again in this movie. And I liked her in it even though her blonde hair after she lost her memories was bothersome.

Aspiring art student Paige met musician Leo in beautiful Chicago. They immediately fell in love and got married. During their usual kiss in the car after a movie, they got in an accident, which resulted in Paige’s memory loss of their five-year relationship. Leo, who believes she is the only love in his life, tries enormously hard to win her heart back. However, there was a big obstacle: their backgrounds. Leo seemed from a normal family where Paige was from a wealthy one. Her memory loss brought back her to the old Paige who lived as a rich and was engaged to another man. My summary stops here.

Leo and Paige were a cute couple. The way they loved made me smile even though it was the Valentine’s Day weekend. The movie wasn’t that dramatic, meaning less fictional, or greasy. But If you are tired of see-through movies, I wouldn’t recommend it. Just want to have a warm feeling? Then go for it!

 
 

Leave a Reply

