think coffee


I always think being a college student is a privilege. Whenever possible, I pay a visit to a university or college where I feel refreshed and vibrant. On my second day of the Manhattan trip, I went to New York University without much expectations because NYU is a composite of buildings without a conventional beautiful campus. As I walked down to lower Manhattan from the bus terminal, I began to feel liveliness of young people on the streets and unexpectedly encountered ‘think coffee’. It was 248 Mercer St, Manhattan.

IMG_5757

think coffee is known for its support for fair trade between coffee farmers and their buyers. I had no idea how much a cup of coffee purchase would help but I wanted to try it. Contrary to its cute modern brand logo, inside looked vintage.

IMG_5759

It was full of people, many of whom looked students and which left me no seat. I contemplated for a moment as to whether to stay or leave. However, due to its scarce locations, five in lower Manhattan and one in Seoul, I chose to stay. The four seats facing the menus were occupied with four persons each with a Macboook Air as if an Apple Store. On the contrary, some people were writing in the old way, like a writer or aspiring writer writing with a pencil on a small notepad. Anyway, the ambience was academic, and I enjoyed it very much. But one major drawback was its unisex filthy restroom.

IMG_5761

IMG_5773

The best Earl Grey I’ve ever had!

* I find it fun blogging about cafe experiences and want to visit more cafes in different cities. It was exciting to visit ‘think coffee’. However, as I was writing about my visit, to be frank, I realized once more that I was too shy while taking pictures and seeing through the cafe. I hope to get more comfortable in an unfamiliar place so that I write more about it with more pictures.

Leave a Reply

