Catalina Coffee


In the Sixth Ward Historic District of Houston, Catalina Coffee (2201 Washington Ave,  Houston) humbly stands. Here is another historic district.IMG_7265

The district was on Washington Avenue, the popular bar street in Houston, but was quiet as opposed to my expectation. As I saw the coffee shop, I wondered how it would look inside and its coffee would taste as it was recommended by many people and has good reviews.

IMG_7270

Parking was behind the building, and it had another entrance from the back.

IMG_7263

Inside was smaller than I thought, but its antique interior was more than worth visiting. I loved it and realized why it was that popular. The small space was filled with people. I am unsure if it stopped offering wifi or had no wifi history at all. Yes, it didn’t offer wifi, which is, I think, brave these days. 🙂

IMG_7250

Because of no wifi, I was debating between Catalina Coffee and Dirk’s Coffee while driving to Catalina Coffee. As soon as I walked inside, I was happy I made there.

IMG_7236I would try it again when an Internet connection is not necessary even though I am unsure if such day would come soon or ever. 🙂 IMG_7241

Its iced latte was the best I’ve tried so far.

IMG_7242IMG_7260The coffee shop had little cute things I wanted to take a picture of. As I was doing my picture taking, one of the baristas asked me if it was for a commercial use. Unless I have a written approval, I can’t take pictures for a commercial use. Certainly, it was for blogging for fun as you see and I said so. And then she okayed. My first thought was that I should have asked if I could, and the second thought was that Catalina Coffee was so popular that its appearance on the press was not unusual.

Whoever lives or visits around should try Catalina Coffee.

IMG_7248IMG_7234

Leave a Reply

